ACREME seed grants awarded

November 11, 2019

Congratulations to lead investigators Aung Pyae Phyo, Jo-Anne Chan, Benedikt Ley, Shazia Ruybal Pesántez and Leanna Surrao and their teams who were awarded competitive seed grants in the first round of funding for 2019. Their innovative seed projects will address important barriers for the surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of malaria.

Project title: Field evaluation of a Point-of-Contact device for P. falciparum malaria serosurveillance

Investigator team: Aung Pyae Phyo (lead), Philippe Boeuf, Win Han Oo, Freya Fowkes, Aung Thi, James Beeson, Julie Simpson, Angela Devine


Project title: Functional human antibodies that target P. falciparum gametocytes to reduce malaria transmission

Investigator team: Jo-Anne Chan (lead), Michelle Boyle, Katherine O’Flaherty, James Beeson, Freya Fowkes, James McCarthy


Project title: The impact of a malaria infection on G6PD activity (MAGY)

Investigator team: Benedikt Ley (lead), Daniel Pfeffer, Ric Price, James McCarthy, Kamala Thriemer


Project title: Building capacity for an innovative amplicon deep sequencing tool to genotype Plasmodium infections for improved surveillance

Investigator team: Shazia Ruybal Pesántez (lead), Moses Laman, Dulcie Lautu, Katherine O’Flaherty, Aung Pyae Phyo, Leanne Robinson, Alyssa Barra, Freya Fowkes


Project title: Development of a high-sensitivity reader for improving use of malaria RDTs 

Investigator team: Leanna Surrao (lead), Jack Richards, Joseph Manitta, Mohammad Shafiul Alam, Benedikt Ley, Kamala Thriemer, Ric Price, Moses Laman, Leanne Robinson, William Hopper


News article